Day 73: Standard

10:00 AM

I entered dating again with little expectations and prepared myself for the disappointment that inevitably follows most dating experiences. Yesterday I was a bit blindsided when the man I was seeing told me he was no longer interested in seeing me. And though shocked, there was probably a part of myself who knew a conversation like this was coming. Though a small blip in my romantic history I am brought back to the same centered and rational state of earlier this summer.

I am grateful for these brief dating experiences because the are helping me create a new standard for how I want to be treated by a partner. For me, this time of being single is about recalibrating not only who I am and what I want out of life, but also experiencing new interactions with people who are capable of treating me with as much respect and appreciation as I treat them. It was sincerely refreshing to speak with someone who could articulate their emotions and share his thoughts non-defensively. And, it makes me believe that seeking such a quality is not unreasonable.

In the end I don’t feel rejected or like his decision has to say anything negative about either one of us. Rather, for me this is about compatibility and that early signs of incompatibility don’t have to be ignored or rationalized. Just as I try to be honest and direct with anyone I am seeing, I feel as though I was afforded the same candor and so there doesn’t have to be any hard feelings. Having these conversations is never easy, and as I have written about before, many people choose to take the easy way out that leads to greater confusion and game-playing. I appreciate cutting losses early and moving forward.

I still know my worth and feel secure in the qualities I have to offer another person. I still know what my goals are and that the route to get there may take many different forms. And though there is some sadness, there is no regret and I continue to be eternally optimistic.

Leave a comment